Why You Can’t Have Your Cake and Eat it Too

Payday, I insert my paycheck, the numbers go up,

Groceries, I treat myself to a cake, and fill the basket with necessities,

Home, I take a slice, small but delicious,

Television, I turn it on, nothing but commercials,

Bites, small and satisfying, I take from my cake,

Bills, “fuck, this can’t be right,” I say spitting frosting on the paper,

Smoke, take my mind off it, I’ll go on the web,

Amazon, my mind’s off it, this looks nice,

Package, on my doorstep, fills me with excitement,

Lights, flip the switch, it’s still dark,

Fridge, open it up, food is spoiled,

Cake, enjoyable yet limited, already gone.

Leave a Reply

